Writing quotes to start a blog by…

Today, I’m opening this writing blog in order to connect with other writers and to promote myself as a freelancer.  It seems appropriate to begin with a few of the quotes that have kept me going after long hours at the computer.   

“Nobody ever wrote a book because he had the time.”

I don’t have the author’s name handy–but let me tell you, he/she speaks the truth!  Only busy people get books written.  ( Right, writers?) 

“The professional writer is the amateur who didn’t quit.” (Richard Bach)

This one gave me hope at the beginning of my career, and continues to give me hope–because, as far as I’ve come, I’m still not where I want to be!

And finally….

“The more people you know, the better your chances are for being heard.” ~ Ashley Kraas

This is why I’m venturing to start this blog.  (Special thanks to author, Susan York Myers, for encouraging me to take a break from writing to do some marketing.)

6 Comments

Filed under Inspiration for Writers, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Writing quotes to start a blog by…

  1. Very interesting blog entries. I look forward to reading more. I think it’s great you stepped out to get your blog up and running.

  2. Thanks for sharing the quotes. I love quotes. I’ll be back.

    • Julia,
      Thank you for writing. I hope to become as accomplished at blogging as you are. I enjoyed reading through your blog and getting ideas.

      ~Amy Dee Stephens
      “Words carry time and culture.”

  3. Ahh, Amy. How kind of you! I feel like I’ve been busted. I haven’t posted to my blog in over a year, but I have been thinking about it. Your kind words may just be the impetus to get me going again, especially since I was considering deleting all the posts and starting all over.

    Thanks, Amy!!!

    • Julial,
      Oh, I didn’t notice the year. It seems like we had a very similar childhood–library books every week, a locking diary, Nancy Drew obsession… Oh, and I’m dying to go to the Crater of Diamonds! So, please don’t delete those posts, just add new ones.

      ~Amy Dee Stephens
      “Words carry time and culture.”

Leave a Reply

