10 Writing Resolutions for 2010

1.  Become a Word Whisperer.  Logan Pearsall Smith said “What I like in a good author is not what he says, but what he whispers.”

 2.  Stop misspelling recieve and enviornment

 3.  Figure out a way to convince the IRS that every trip to Wal-Mart is a deductible writing expense.  It’s research!  After all, what better place can you go to find some crazy characters to write into a story?

 4.  Remember the difference between affect and effect.  Stopping to look it up each time has an unfortunate affect effect on the flow of my, uh, whatever I was talking about.

 5.  Reread at least five of my favorite books from childhood…you know, the classics, like Anne of Green Gables, Little Women and Superfudge. 

 6.  Pursue agents with greater tenacity.  (Hmmm…maybe ten-a-city is the right formula!)

 7.  Adopt a method for organizing the rejection letters piling up in my office. I’m thinking that something like the Dewey Decimal System might be adequate.  

 8.  Find a market for a story about my oddball hobby: listening to 1930s comedy radio shows.  (No, I’m not a 90-year old woman, thank you very much.)

 9.  Be a student of humor.  Author Patricia Case recommends improving your “funny” by studying comedy-writing techniques.  Or to quote The Cat in the Hat, “It’s fun to have fun, but you have to know how.” 

 10.  Inspire others to work harder at their writing craft.  Then, when they are successful, they can encourage me to keep going.  (Hey, that’s YOU I’m talking about!)

 Happy New Year!  May we all achieve that multi-million-dollar book contract sometime in the next 12 months–that way, we’ll have no need to write a resolution list again next year. 

 Amy Dee Stephens

“Words carry time and culture.”

4 Comments

Filed under Inspiration for Writers, My Philosophy on Writing, Some Writing Humor

4 responses to “10 Writing Resolutions for 2010

  1. I love those old radio shows.

    God Bless,
    Susan

  2. Some of my favorite radio shows are from the 40s: Inner Sanctum and Father Knows Best. The latter is what the youth of today might deem “cheesy,” but it makes me laugh in the same way Leave it to Beaver does…Yikes…I’d better stop now before I REALLY embarrass myself.

    • Ah, you understand the appeal! Clean, solid storyline, with imagination to fill in the gaps. It might have been the perfect plot primer for a writer.

      I confess that I was probably the only teenager in my high school who was listening to Fibber McGee & Molly instead of Madonna while doing my hair (it was the big hair days, so I plenty of time to get through the 30 min episode).

      Nice to run into another fan

      Amy Dee Stephens
      “Words carry time and culture.”

  3. Love your resolutions, Amy. I’m also working on getting an agent. I’m hoping that 2010 is OUR year, baby!

Leave a Reply

