Extreme (Emotional) Makeover

This week, I had the privilege of being a member of the media, covering the ABC filming of the Extreme Makeover: Home Edition in Oklahoma.  When the show airs this spring, I will join viewers as they cry their way through this heart-wrenching episode. 

 Yes, this show always makes me an emotional wreck, but something about seeing it in person was so very profound. 

 I mean, how many times in your life have you seen someone truly dance in the street from sheer happiness? 

 Or cry tears of thanksgiving because complete strangers poured over 50,000 hours of time into making life better in just one week?     

 I’ve read about pure joy, but I think I’ve rarely witnessed it. 

 So, although it was great fun to see the celebrities…although my body tired from hours of standing in the freezing temperatures…although I will pour more hours into writing stories about this event…

I will always remember the mother who danced and cried at the same time.

The Dance (Courtesy Ideal Homes website)

  

 
 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration for Writers

Leave a Reply

